Spartans News · Next Athletic Hall of Fame inductees announced, tickets on sale

The next induction of the Lima City Schools Athletic Hall of Fame will be held Feb. 16, with tickets to the event going on sale soon in the Lima Senior Athletic Office.

The Lima City Schools Athletic Hall of Fame honors teams, athletes, coaches and contributors from Lima Senior High School, Central High School and South High School.

This will be the second class to be inducted, with a new class coming every year. The Athletic Office accepted nominations this summer and a selection committee recently made its decision.

Below are members of the first induction class:

Athletes: Dr. James Baugh (posthumously for football, basketball and baseball), Ronald Lee Cook (football), Kevin Ingram (football), Dr. Jeanine Johnson (basketball), Robert Meredith (swim), Becky Offenbacher (tennis),  Don Rogers (football), Sam Thomas (track),  Jim Tschuor (swim), Cleo Vaughn (posthumously for football, basketball and baseball) Travis Walton (basketball), and Penny Sanderson Wittler (volleyball).

Coaches: Barry Blackstone (football), Ron Dotson (posthumously, track and cross country), Ron Niekamp (basketball) and Al Scrivner (posthumously, football)

Team: 1960 Baseball State Finals, 1966 Jim Bright and Jim Leonard State Doubles Tennis Champions, 1986 4×100 Meter Relay Team, 1988-89 Lima Senior Girls Basketball State Finals, and 1991-92 Lima Senior Boys Basketball State Finals.

Contributor: Joyce Avery, Teddy Ellis, Jim Fisher (posthumously), Dr. Mark McDonald and James “Doc” Offenbaker.

Inductees will first be recognized during halftime of the Friday, Feb. 15, home basketball game. The Spartans take on Findlay High School. Tipoff of the varsity game is at 7:30 p.m.

The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held Saturday, Feb. 16, at the UNOH Event Center, 1450 N. Cable Road. A reception for inductees and families will begin at 5 p.m., with the dinner and program starting at 6 p.m.

Tickets for the event are $30 and can be purchased in the Lima Senior Athletic Office during school hours. A table can be reserved for $260. To reserve tickets, please call 419-996-3050.

A digital display for the Hall of Fame is located in the hallway just west of the Lima Senior gymnasium to honor inductees.