Spartans News · Athletic Hall of Fame inductees announced, tickets on sale now

The next induction of the Lima City Schools Athletic Hall of Fame will be held Feb. 15, with tickets to the event on sale now in the Lima Senior Athletic Office. Tickets will be on sale until February 12thno tickets will be sold after this date! Tickets for the event are $35 and can be purchased in the Lima Senior Athletic Office during school hours or online at A table can be reserved for $280. To reserve tickets, please call 419-996-3050.

The Lima City Schools Athletic Hall of Fame honors teams, athletes, coaches and contributors from Lima Senior High School, Central High School and South High School. A Legacy Award has been added this year.

This will be the third class to be inducted, with a new class coming every year. The Athletic Office accepted nominations this summer and a selection committee recently made its decision.

Below are members of the new induction class:

Athletes: Bryan Andrews, Joe Clark, Randy Cooper, Deb Cousey (Allison), Saundra Treese Cummings, Deb Hebel, Dave King, Thomas J. Lentz, George McDuffie, Tommy McDuffie, Larry Nicolet, Emzer Shurelds and Alphonso “Biggie” Townsend.

Coaches: Jim Romey, Donald Penhorwood and Paul Penn.

Teams: 1946 Central High School Football, 1962 Lima Senior High School Boys Basketball and 1963 Lima Senior High School Baseball.

Contributors: Anne E. Warren and James and Teddy Stepleton.

Legacy: The Crisp Family

Inductees will first be recognized during halftime of the Friday, Feb. 14, home basketball game. Tipoff of the varsity game is at 7:30 p.m.

The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held Saturday, Feb. 15, at the UNOH Event Center, 1450 N. Cable Road. A reception for inductees and families will begin at 5 p.m., with the dinner and program starting at 6 p.m.